With your head in the sand, it sounds like you’re talking out of your ass…

For a long time now, I’ve harbored a simmering dissent with my political ideology. At 32, I’ve spent much of my life on the conservative side of issues. I registered independent to keep my options open, but historically I’ve leaned to the right. Until recently this hasn’t really been an issue. However, since the election I’ve become increasingly unhappy with that side of the coin.
My anger stems from the attitude of the Republican party. Instead of being a gracious in defeat, they have taken the most immature stance I can imagine. Fellow conservatives have openly admitted to me that they hope this country falls flat on it’s face under our new president, just so they can say they were right. They stubbornly oppose any ideas from the left, just because they lost. They refuse to adapt to a changing nation. They have lost their way.
I can understand being reluctant about new ideas during years of prosperity. I firmly believe that if it’s not broke, don’t fix it. Unfortunately it is broke. When the staus quo fails, it’s time to try something new. That’s just good trouble shooting.
What we need from them right now is for them to bring their best ideas to the table. Not cling to party rhetoric, but to be innovative. Instead we get slander and childish temper tantrums. We need them to play nice with the other side of the aisle. Sorry, but you can’t say the other side is not being bipartisan if you resolutely show no interest in working with them.
My former conservative colleagues, it’s time to look to the future. It’s time to find a place in this new century for us. The world is changing and if you don’t keep up, you get left behind. I’m not saying change everything, or that run away liberalism is the answer. I’m saying be open to new ideas and embrace the change you cannot stop.
The cold war is over. It’s been more than two decades since Reagan was president. It’s time to let go of the past and move on. A house divided against itself cannot stand. A republican said that. You may have heard of him, Abraham Lincoln. He was president once and saw first hand the horros of a house divided.

About faultcode113

I'm just a normal thirty something guy. Married with a house, tow cars, and one dog. I enjoy my work, but not always my job. I love to travel abroad, specifically the UK. I swear I was the tallest guy in Tokyo when I was there. I prefer reading to movies and tv. I prefer Sci-fi to most everything else. I feel it fits better as an escapist past time. I'm also a student of history. How can one learn from the past if they don't know anything about it? If this all seems rather random, it is. My life has been a series of free associations. I wouldn't have it any other way. If you like what I post, tell a friend. If you don't, tell a friend anyways. They might like it. FC113 View all posts by faultcode113

Leave a Reply

