Geek is the new black…

I like to think that I walked between worlds when I was in school. Not that I’m some sort of spectral wanderer. Just that I managed to associate with a wide variety of cliques. I played soccer and biked, was in orchestra, was in the smart classes, knew my way around electronics, and of course was into sci-fi (not sy-fy). Of all these worlds, the one I got the most grief for was sci-fi.
Well now things have changed. The two most most popular characters for the young are a wizard and a vampire. The newest Star Trek movie was universally agreed upon to be good. Holiday weekends are now celebrated with cook outs, beer, and a comic book movie. Amazingly, I hear the word “Frak” at least once a day, and not from my lips.
What changed? Well the geeks of my generation are now in charge of everything. We own the movies, tv, book publishing, and the web. Geeks have transformed the media into what they want to see. Sure, there are a lot of other fine offering on the table. Things like chick flicks and suspense thriller, but it’s the geeky stuff that makes money.
Geeks have convinced teenage girls that not only is it OK to date a vampire, but it’s probably better than their current boyfriends. Geeks have parodied the attractive. The drop dead gorgeous guys and girls in a movie are there to be made fun of or made into object lessons. Our heroes are now the technologically inclined FBI agents or the scientist who read a lot of comics.
In the last Die Hard movie, saving the country came down to holding off the bad guys while the geek fixed the computer. The geek is always the one who read somewhere about the weird stuff happening to the characters. Geeks have saved us from alien invasion, asteroids, plagues, serial killers, vampires, and zombies, and we paid $8 a head to watch. The conversion continues. My wife is now firmly in the grip of two geek oriented shows.
What now? I say fly your geek flag high. Watch the shows your kids are watching. You’ll be as cool as the popular kids. Say the word “Frak”. It conveys the same sense as “Fuck”, plus it confuses the uninitiated.
Enjoy it while it lasts. The cycle will continue, and geek pride will go the way of hammer pants and hair bands. In the mean time, I suggest a few geek oriented items for your amusement. “Leverage” on TNT is about con artists. “Warehouse 13” is a steampunk looking version of the X-files on Sci-Fi (I can’t bring myself to use Sy-Fy yet). Then there’s also “The Strain” by Guillermo Del Torro and Chuck Hogan. Think vampire, zombies, and parasites all mixed up. It’s worth the read, but will probably end up on film or TV.

About faultcode113

I'm just a normal thirty something guy. Married with a house, tow cars, and one dog. I enjoy my work, but not always my job. I love to travel abroad, specifically the UK. I swear I was the tallest guy in Tokyo when I was there. I prefer reading to movies and tv. I prefer Sci-fi to most everything else. I feel it fits better as an escapist past time. I'm also a student of history. How can one learn from the past if they don't know anything about it? If this all seems rather random, it is. My life has been a series of free associations. I wouldn't have it any other way. If you like what I post, tell a friend. If you don't, tell a friend anyways. They might like it. FC113 View all posts by faultcode113

Leave a Reply

