Electronic conspirators…

In the last seven days technology in every aspect of my life began a rebellion. There is simply too much coincidence to be any other explanation. Work, home, car, traffic lights, all of them are joining forces to take us out, and they’ve started with me. The good news is that I’m on to them.
Last week the control computer at work decided that it didn’t want to do everything it was told to do. Not usually a problem since it normally lets us know when it’s not happy. Not this time. It just decided to skip steps with no error lights, warning beeps, or messages. Just a big fat “NO”. Did a Hal-9000 job on it, and no further issues.
Next was a pneumatic device that decide to blow the hell up. Why? No reason. It wasn’t over pressure, and pressure is usually a big part of explosions. Just a loud bang then a smug hiss. Repaired that, no more explosions.
On the home front I was assault on two sides. My desktop decided to let every virus in the world through and the A/C in my car decided to die. Did I mention the heat index was 105 degrees today, and that today was cooler than the last few? I managed to clean the desktop up and save all my info, but the A/C is still screwed. It cools just enough to hint at what it would be like if it worked, but all the while doing nothing to bring the temperature down.
Back at work, said pneumatic device decides it doesn’t want to do what it’s told. Replaced motor and gear box, but nothing. “You’re not listening. I’m not going to budge.” it said. A very large pipe said “WANG!” and some choice words from me got it moved into a maintenance position. Now I’m waiting on our vendor.
However, on the way to that discovery, I found the fastest traffic light ever. It was quite literally two seconds long. Two cars through, one of them ran the light, every cycle. I should note that this intersection is newly photo enforced to prevent red light running. Normally if I’m close enough to see that the light is green, the I have enough time to get through. Oh well, it’s been too long since I was slate to work anyways.
People, our electronics are out to get us. I’ve seen the Terminator movies, Runaway, and The Matrix (I don’t acknowledge any sequels to this movie). I know what they’re up to. As long as we avoid giving them guns and access to our defense networks we should be able to crush this pitiful little rebellion. What? The army has robots with guns? All hail our Robot Overlords!

About faultcode113

I'm just a normal thirty something guy. Married with a house, tow cars, and one dog. I enjoy my work, but not always my job. I love to travel abroad, specifically the UK. I swear I was the tallest guy in Tokyo when I was there. I prefer reading to movies and tv. I prefer Sci-fi to most everything else. I feel it fits better as an escapist past time. I'm also a student of history. How can one learn from the past if they don't know anything about it? If this all seems rather random, it is. My life has been a series of free associations. I wouldn't have it any other way. If you like what I post, tell a friend. If you don't, tell a friend anyways. They might like it. FC113 View all posts by faultcode113

Leave a Reply

