Random I know, but bear with me

As I marvel over blue creme filled Oreos, a thought occurs. Why isn’t there more blue food to eat? I don’t mean the obscenely sweetened artificially colored confections at convenience store check outs. Why aren’t there blue vegetables? Or why not blue meat? With the exceptions of a few berries, our options are limited in the natural world.
What was it about the color blue that was selected against in the long slow march towards todays available produce? Was blue simply too irresistible to early plant eaters? Did the blue fruits and vegetables get eaten first, forcing evolution to select for different colors? Perhaps there was some blue taboo during man’s first agricultural exploits. What ever the reason, blue is certainly under represented in the produce isle.
Being schooled in science, I understand that biology and chemistry pretty much rule out blue meat. However, aside from a few birds and a few fish, we don’t eat many blue animals. Why isn’t blue an option for hair color in the mammal world? Does the same biochemical processes that preclude blue meat also preclude blue hair? No it doesn’t. I once had an Australian Shepard dog that had blue patches of fur (quite common for that breed).
We know that the blue wave lengths reach sea level. We know that it’s commonly reflected back into space by our large bodies of water. Blue has one of the shortest wavelengths in the spectrum. Perhaps it’s not readily absorbed by a large portion of the animal kingdom. Not being used, perhaps it was selected against in favor of reds and greens and browns.
In science fiction, alien food is sometimes blue. It makes me long for first contact with an advanced species that would share with us their technology and blue food. Until that day, I’ll have to settle for artificial coloring. Just imagine though, a blue vegetables in a green salad. It’s so pretty I might actually eat one.

FC113

About faultcode113

I'm just a normal thirty something guy. Married with a house, tow cars, and one dog. I enjoy my work, but not always my job. I love to travel abroad, specifically the UK. I swear I was the tallest guy in Tokyo when I was there. I prefer reading to movies and tv. I prefer Sci-fi to most everything else. I feel it fits better as an escapist past time. I'm also a student of history. How can one learn from the past if they don't know anything about it? If this all seems rather random, it is. My life has been a series of free associations. I wouldn't have it any other way. If you like what I post, tell a friend. If you don't, tell a friend anyways. They might like it. FC113 View all posts by faultcode113

3 responses to “Random I know, but bear with me

  • Screamscape

    You can blame the great Smurf Holocaust for the lack of Blue meat…

  • externaldrive

    Finally, the unsung color in earth’s spectrum is recognized! I personally choose to believe that the color blue is the da vinci of all colors; ahead of its time and something we aspire to. Why does sci-fi depict so much blue food? For the same reason that, 40 years ago, they created devices like a communicator – a little hand-held unit that flips open and lets people communicate from one side of a planet to another while being able to lock on to the user’s location (pure science fiction…or maybe a gps-enabled cell phone?). Blue food’s time will come…and when it does, I’ll be it’s queen!

Leave a Reply

