Anonymity, I hardley knew you

Being a standard model human male in his thirties, I have all of the normal stresses the come with said station in life. Full time job, wife, dog, pub, all responsibilities that I owe some manner of attention to. A large problem is that all of these areas are interconnected. My wife knows a lot of my coworkers, who in turn drink with me. Secrecy is just another form of mass communication here.
There are times, often (very), that I must hold back the thoughts fighting to spring board off the tongue into the ears of the easily offended (most everyone I know). I bargain with these eager thoughts. I tell them that if they just stay put a little while longer, then they can get fly free into the ether on the virtual wings of the internet. There they will be free to offend millions of people, who (most importantly) I do not know.
Anonymity on the web was the answer. I’ll blog about the people in my life. Their wacky antics should have the opportunity to amuse the wide world as they have amused (or annoyed) me. Obviously Faultcode113 is not my given name. In fact, if you Google search my real name, you get doctors and architects (of which I am neither).
I have clearly underestimated the resourcefulness and available free time of some people I know. It’s not that I don’t like the people in my life. The cherished few that I keep close are the best you could hope to find. However, they don’t need to be privy to the torrents of steam that needs to be blown off at times. I like them too much for that.
Then there are those who pass through your life. I’ve meet lots of people in the wide world, and keeping in touch with all of them is as unappealing as would be exhausting. If the two words that I’ve said to you in the last decade happened in two different conversations, then I’m probably not interested in keeping up to the small talk. It’s not that they are bad people (though there are some), but I just don’t have the time. I can have literally a thousand acquaintances, or I can have a few really close friends. Not both.
I choose anonymity on the web for these reasons. There are, however, those who feel they have to know about everything you do and say. They are uninvited. As well intentioned as they may be, they represent a threat to a convenient outlet for my frustrations. They know too many of the people who know what this stuff is about. They also can’t keep secrets. Ever.
I write in generalities for a reason. Names are easily searched, so are places of employment and events. It frightens me how many people I know who now may have access to this blog. My readership has gone up dramatically. From the one and only person the even know about it, to several a day. Coincidence? I don’t believe in that, since it coincides with being found on two social networking sites (one under my real name, the under under this one).
How can I vent about work if I think my boss is reading. The wife, she doesn’t need to know the dark thoughts in my head when we fight. Coworkers probably don’t want our major fuck ups broadcast all over the world. Let’s not get into family. Now I must resort to flat out denial should the topic come up, and lie to everyone I know.
If you like the content, forward it on. If you have a comment, say something. To my peeps, I love you even if I have to rant about you on occasion.

FC113

About faultcode113

I'm just a normal thirty something guy. Married with a house, tow cars, and one dog. I enjoy my work, but not always my job. I love to travel abroad, specifically the UK. I swear I was the tallest guy in Tokyo when I was there. I prefer reading to movies and tv. I prefer Sci-fi to most everything else. I feel it fits better as an escapist past time. I'm also a student of history. How can one learn from the past if they don't know anything about it? If this all seems rather random, it is. My life has been a series of free associations. I wouldn't have it any other way. If you like what I post, tell a friend. If you don't, tell a friend anyways. They might like it. FC113 View all posts by faultcode113

Leave a Reply

